THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF IEM



This is a compilation of articles under the Sub-Committee on Documentation and Recording of IEM Historical Events

by Dato' Ir. Pang Leong Hoon

AS planned, the Inaugural Meeting of IEM was held on 1 August 1958 at 9.00 p.m. at No. 23 Perak Road, Kuala Lumpur, the residence of Mr. Lau Foo San. The meeting was attended by 39 engineers from various government agencies and the private sectors (refer to list of names attached). The participating engineers had elected Encik Yusof bin Hj. Ibrahim as the Chairman and Mr. Lau Foo San as the Hon. Secretary to officially facilitate the meeting.

The items on the Agenda were efficiently dealt with and subsequently, the drafts of the Constitution and By-Laws were deliberated, voted, and accepted in principle.

During the deliberation, an important issue was raised by Mr. Ng Ek Poh (Telecoms) and Mr. M. Tharmalingam (Mech. P.W.D). They feared that "the Constitution was not sufficiently represented". However, Encik Yusof had reassured them that the Committees would see to it that an even representation would be obtained in the future.

(Note: The above concern of the two engineers and the assurance given by the Chairman were again addressed to the late Tan Sri Ir. J.G. Daniel during an interview on 20 March 2011. He recalled that these had resulted in an unwritten rule or understanding. He said that "In those days, we had an unwritten rule that the President of the Institution would rotate among different disciplines so that whether a member belongs to one discipline or another, you would have the chance to lead the new Institution". Thus, the unwritten rule of not having the President and Deputy President from the same engineering discipline has been a practice of the IEM for many years).

Apart from the above, it was proposed by Mr. Chew Kam Pok that "... all engineers present here this evening will be considered as founder members of the Institution". The motion was seconded by Mr. A. Navaratnam and it was put to a vote. The motion was carried out.

The next item of the Agenda was the election of the first IEM Council Members. The elected Council Members were as follows:

President	:	Encik Yusof bin Hj. Ibrahim P.W.D	
Vice President	:	Raja Zainal b. Raja Sulaiman C.E.B	
Hon. Secretary	:	Mr. Lau Foo San Private Practice	
Hon. Treasurer	:	Mr. Chew Kit Lin P.W.D	
General Members	:	Mr. Chew Kam Pok Mr. A. B. Bhatt Mr. Philip Chow Mr. Philip Chow Mr. Aw-Yong Hong Chiew Mr. Chan Peng Khoon or Mr. Dalip Singh	

P.W.D now known as J.K.R

C.E.B now known as TNB

The Inaugural Meeting was adjourned at 10.30 p.m. with a note of thanks to the then President and the Secretary for their unfailing support towards the success of the Institution.

With the formation of IEM, the Joint Overseas Group of U.K. professional bodies was advised to dissolve itself. The Group later donated its entire funds to the IEM and decided not to hold any further activities in the country.

1.	Yusof bin Hj. Ibrahim	P.W.D		
2.	A. B. Bhatt	Petaling Jaya		
3.	Chew Kit Lin	P.W.D		
4.	Lau Foo San	Private Practice		
5.	J.D. Daniel	D.I.D		
6.	Aw Yong Hong Chiew	D.I.D		
7.	Kong How Wah	P.W.D		
8.	Chan Boon Teik	P.W.D		
9.	Philip Chow	Steen Sehested		
10.	Tong Kay Chor	P.W.D		
11.	Chong Koon Kee	P.W.D		
12.	K. Ratnasingam	P.W.D		
13.	S.V. Navaratnam	P.W.D		
14.	Lum Yun Foo	Telecoms		
15.	Yap Seong Kee	P.W.D		
16.	Bugong Hj. Abdullah	Telecoms		
17.	Shamsuri Hj. Ali	P.W.D		
18.	Ng Ek Poh	Telecoms		
19.	M. Tharmalingam	P.W.D		
20.	A. Navaratnam	P.W.D		
21.	Lee Chye Watt	Telecoms		
22.	Kok Ah Lok	P.W.D		
23.	Koh Ah Seng	Telecoms		
24.	Chew Kam Pok	Telecoms		
25.	T.A. Narayan	Telecoms		
26.	V.A. Thomas	Telecoms		
27.	A. Hamid Ahamd	P.W.D Terengganu		
28.	Ismial Marzuki	P.W.D Pahang		
29.	R. Rozairo	P.W.D		
30.	S.Y. Chung	P.W.D		
31.	Lim Tong Peng	P.W.D		
32.	T.G. Seshan	P.W.D		
33.	Yun Min Ying	P.W.D		
34.	Halaluddin	P.W.D		
35.	Cheong Yoong Hoi	P.W.D		
36.	J. Ponnudurai	P.W.D Ipoh		
37.	S. Sivapathasundran	P.W.D Muar		
38.	K.S. Bal	P.W.D Headquarters, Kuala Lumpur		
39.	Low Tat Cheung	P.W.D Headquarters, Kuala Lumpur		

Y.Bhg. Dato' Ir. Pang Leong Hoon was formerly the Director-General of the Department of Irrigation and Drainage, Malaysia. He was also the Past President of IEM for Sessions 1984/1985 and 1985/1986.